Lately

It’s been a busy new year so far. My family, and I recently went to the mountains and we got to see almost 3 feet of snow! Where we live we don’t get a lot of snow, barely even an inch a year, so that trip was a blessing!

Did anyone watch the Super Bowl last night? I was cheering for the Broncos. And, they won! The sad part was, all the commercials were advertising Beer. 😦  Peyton Manning said “I’m gonna go kiss my wife and kids, and drink some Budweiser.” 😦

The Lord says in Proverbs 20:1 Wine is a mocker, strong drink is raging, and whosoever is deceived, thereby, is not wise.

Our pastor said in his sermon that, we need to be more concerned about lost souls, then being obsessed with football, and sports. At first I thought he was slamming people who watch football. But then I thought about it. Some people all they can do is think about sports and football. They have no concern for their lost souls, or others lost souls. There is nothing wrong about watching sports, I watch them! But, instead of having sports on your mind all the time, we need to get into our bibles, talk to God through prayer, witness to someone, get right with God, draw closer to him, or whatever your need for God might be.

What things should we think about?  Philippians 4:8 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report, if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

I too am guilty of having sports on my mind, instead of God. I’m a cheerleader, and at home I like to tumble, or jump, or stunt (that’s lifting people (my brother 🙂 ) up in the air).  And, I catch myself cheering more than I read my bible, or pray. I need to get my priorities straight.

(Post entitled Your Priorities coming soon in March)

It’s okay to watch sports, play sports, or do anything that you like to do. Just make sure your hobbies, things in life, or whatever you do, doesn’t interrupt your quality time with God.

What things should we think about?  Philippians 4:8 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report, if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

Peyton Manning also said “I thank the ‘man up stairs’ for this opportunity”.  Who is the man upstairs? Is it God? Is it your dad who is really upstairs? Your brother? Uncle? Who is he?

He was referring to God. But, God is not ‘a man upstairs’. Why?

  1. God is not a man. Jesus is half God, half man, but not full man.

Numbers 23:19 God is not a man, so he does not lie. He is not human, so he does not change his mind. Has he ever spoken and failed to act? Has he ever promised and not carried it through?

John 1:14 The Word (Jesus is the word.) became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the one and only Son, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.

Jesus became flesh for us. Not God the father. Jesus was still half God half man.

2. He doesn’t live ‘upstairs’ God lives in heaven.

Psalm 115:3 Our God is in heaven; he does whatever pleases him.

Matthew 7:13-14 “Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it.14 But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it
John 14:2-3  Jesus said, My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am
Colossians 3:1-4   Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. 2Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. 3 For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. 4 When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.
John 14:6 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.
God isn’t the ‘man upstairs’, he is a God that is loving and just, holy and righteous, forgiving and will forget are sins, if we ask. Psalm 103:12 As far as the east is from the west, so far hath he removed our transgressions from us.
He lives in a perfect, holy, and beautiful; place called heaven. Where if you believe, you will be able to walk the streets of gold, see rivers that sparkle, jewels and gems, the pearly gates, beauty beyond compare. And most important, you will see God.
1. Sing the wondrous love of Jesus;
sing his mercy and his grace.
In the mansions bright and blessed
he’ll prepare for us a place.
Refrain:
When we all get to heaven,
what a day of rejoicing that will be!
When we all see Jesus,
we’ll sing and shout the victory!4. Onward to the prize before us!
Soon his beauty we’ll behold;
soon the pearly gates will open;
we shall tread the streets of gold.
(Refrain)
I pray everyone has a blessed week! ❤

 

 

 

One thought on “Lately

  1. kaylatot February 8, 2016 / 6:23 pm

    Amen! It’s sad that everyone advertises beer now. Well, thanks for the post😘

Leave a Reply

