A poem

Sorry for not posting in a long time. We just finished our testing week (End of grade), so we have been busy.

Below is a poem that I wrote . It is inspired by the bible verses… (this is Paul talking)

Philippians 4:11-13 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

Just be thankful

Count your blessings one by one

See what Jehovah God

Has done

A house, car, a bed to sleep

Drink, and food to eat

But why?

Must we complain for God

has given us things

But some

have not,no house, no bed

not even a pillow to rest their head

So why complain?

When we have clothes,toys, and shoes?

Just be thankful

For what God has given you

For that is the secret of being content

By counting your blessings

Instead of your cents

Instead of wants,wishes, or things

Just count your blessings

That the good Lord brings.

Written by: Cupcakegirl10

101 thoughts on “A poem

  1. Nancy Drew May 3, 2016 / 12:16 pm

    You are really good at writing poetry! This is a great poem!

      • Nancy Drew May 3, 2016 / 3:40 pm

        I am on Ch.12 of my book, going to get it published (soon?)

      • cupcakegirl10 May 3, 2016 / 3:54 pm

        Wow! You write quick! I’m going to try to finish a couple more chapters today on mine as well.

      • Nancy Drew May 3, 2016 / 4:07 pm

        I am looking up “picking a pen name” one person said pick the first name of your fave. singer, the first letter of your least fave. Teenage Mutant Turtle name, and your favorite wine. Which I cant do cause I DONT drink wine!!!

      • cupcakegirl10 May 3, 2016 / 4:46 pm

        Cool! Sounds interesting. I was thinking about picking a pen name, but then again your name won’t get the credit for your book, it would be your pen name.

      • Nancy Drew May 3, 2016 / 4:48 pm

        Ya, Im thinking of the pen name Airalee Vincent, what do you think?

      • cupcakegirl10 May 3, 2016 / 4:54 pm

        Well, it sounds good for like an adult or teenager novel. But, if you are writing a children’s book maybe you should go with something easy, and easy to pronounce. http://www.plot-generator.org.uk/pen-name/ This site gave me a few ideas on a pen name.

      • Nancy Drew May 3, 2016 / 4:57 pm

        Cool, I think I like the last name, Ill see what I can do about the 1st

      • Nancy Drew May 3, 2016 / 5:04 pm

        LAST CHAPTER OF MY BOOK TIME!!!

      • Nancy Drew May 3, 2016 / 5:06 pm

        the kindle thing didn’t work, it just said “internet explorer is not working”

      • Nancy Drew May 3, 2016 / 5:47 pm

        I am finished w/ my book!

      • cupcakegirl10 May 3, 2016 / 6:41 pm

        Because the publishes are VERY strict.

      • Nancy Drew May 3, 2016 / 9:25 pm

        ya, so I can work on a bit more.

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 2:42 pm

        Bible Gateway now has a “Verse of the Day”. Enter your email, and you’ll get a Bible verse every day!

      • cupcakegirl10 May 3, 2016 / 5:56 pm

        When do you think you will publish it?

      • Nancy Drew May 3, 2016 / 6:08 pm

        I’m thinking 1 or 2 days, most likely not today.

      • Nancy Drew May 3, 2016 / 6:11 pm

        I still have to make my cover and back

      • cupcakegirl10 May 3, 2016 / 6:40 pm

        Before you send your manuscript to the publishers, you might want your family to read it, and have someone who has a degree in English look over it. Make sure you have good punctuation and sentences. And you might want someone who has written a book or is writing a book to look over it as well.

      • Nancy Drew May 3, 2016 / 9:22 pm

        Ya, I still need to look over it, but its my first book, so it doesn’t have to be top of the line.

  2. Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 2:38 pm

    I had to make EVERYTHING a PDF file, which I kept looking up, and finally found out how!!! Now my book will be on Amazon and Barnes and Noble soon, as soon as my Mom gives me the Okay! So excited!

    • cupcakegirl10 May 4, 2016 / 2:46 pm

      Cool! Will you post it on your blog so people (and me:) ) could read it?

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 2:46 pm

        Sure! Right now if you want!

      • cupcakegirl10 May 4, 2016 / 2:47 pm

        Thanks! Can’t wait to read it!

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 2:49 pm

        Thank you! They said they would base the price (if it gets published) on how many pages it has, and it has 26. I didn’t really need or want a price, will I get some $$$ though?

      • cupcakegirl10 May 4, 2016 / 2:50 pm

        I hope you do! What site did you use to publish it?

      • cupcakegirl10 May 4, 2016 / 2:51 pm

        Oh ok! Thanks. I might use that site as well. (can’t wait to read your book!!)

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 2:52 pm

        Thanks, I published it on my blog!

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 2:54 pm

        It took up like half the page! aHH!

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 3:17 pm

        Have you finished reading it? Do you like it????

      • cupcakegirl10 May 4, 2016 / 3:18 pm

        I really liked it! It was really good!!! 🙂

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 3:18 pm

        Thanks!!!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 !So, do you think its ggod enough to be published? Be truthful, I wont mind! And if you have any tips…

      • cupcakegirl10 May 4, 2016 / 3:27 pm

        I think it’s good! I know that one word seventeen you spelled it seven-teen so it sorta looked like seven teens instead of the number seventeen. Other than that it was great! 🙂

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 3:28 pm

        OOPs! Thanks, will change!

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 4:00 pm

        They have some requirements, like “minimum two blank pages” which is easy, just push “enter” until you have two blank pages, click save, and your done! The number of pages must be divisible by 2, this must be for prices.

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 5:07 pm

        I am REALLY lovin’ the publishing site I use, their rules are clear and easy!

      • cupcakegirl10 May 4, 2016 / 5:13 pm

        That’s good! Then I’ll probably use that site to!

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 5:19 pm

        I didn’t really look at the others, but I like the one im using.

      • cupcakegirl10 May 4, 2016 / 4:12 pm

        Thanks for the info on the book publishing website! Have a great day! 🙂

      • cupcakegirl10 May 4, 2016 / 4:57 pm

        When I’m finished with my book, could you and Kyla read it and tell me if you like it?

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 5:06 pm

        Sure, I would love to, and am sure she would also, when do you think the 1st copy will be ready?

      • cupcakegirl10 May 4, 2016 / 5:12 pm

        I’m not actually sure when. Hopefully in a few months. Thanks! 🙂 ❤

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 5:27 pm

        Are you typing or writing by hand?

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 5:33 pm

        same! It would take a long time to convert.

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 5:36 pm

        I have always wanted to be an author, and now I am!

      • Nancy Drew May 5, 2016 / 1:53 pm

        So you like my chapter 2 post? 🙂

      • cupcakegirl10 May 5, 2016 / 1:54 pm

        It’s great! Is that your second book?

      • Nancy Drew May 5, 2016 / 1:54 pm

        No, just one I randomly make up for the blog, not really gonna be published, I don’t think.

      • cupcakegirl10 May 5, 2016 / 2:00 pm

        Sure. I’d love too. I’ll check it out.

      • Nancy Drew May 5, 2016 / 2:19 pm

        Will u join the contest?

      • cupcakegirl10 May 5, 2016 / 2:27 pm

        OK, I posted my pic. Its on my blog under the name The Rose of Sharon. I would like to enter the photo under creativity. Thanks!

      • Nancy Drew May 5, 2016 / 2:32 pm

        It is really good, you have a big chance! The prize is links to science expiriments, cool pictures, and more! If you win, you geet the password!

      • cupcakegirl10 May 5, 2016 / 2:38 pm

        Cool! Sounds great. And thanks .

      • Nancy Drew May 5, 2016 / 2:38 pm

        and games, for outside.

      • Nancy Drew May 5, 2016 / 4:23 pm

        You wanna write for the author contest?

      • cupcakegirl10 May 5, 2016 / 4:34 pm

        Sure, only I tried to submit something and it said the page couldn’t be found.

      • Nancy Drew May 5, 2016 / 4:37 pm

        What do you mean?

      • cupcakegirl10 May 5, 2016 / 4:38 pm

        I filled out the form you posted on your blog for the contest, and when I clicked submit it said ‘sorry but the page can’t be found.’

      • Nancy Drew May 5, 2016 / 4:39 pm

        Hmm, I will see what I can do, maybe I can just say “leave your domain in the comments below”

      • cupcakegirl10 May 5, 2016 / 4:39 pm

        Thanks, that might work! 🙂

      • Nancy Drew May 5, 2016 / 4:41 pm

        Did you fill out each box? You need to fill out the comment box too, did you do that? It worked for me!

      • Nancy Drew May 5, 2016 / 4:42 pm

        OK, thanks! Sorry.

      • cupcakegirl10 May 5, 2016 / 4:43 pm

        Its okay! It still said page not found, though

      • Nancy Drew May 5, 2016 / 4:46 pm

        KK, I changed it, try one more time.

      • cupcakegirl10 May 5, 2016 / 4:51 pm

        Well, I was able to send my name and my blog domain but not my entry. So, I’ll just do it under the comments. 🙂

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 5:09 pm

        When I look at the (perhaps) final copy of my book I am like “Wow, it looks like a real book,” It also has a copyright page, which I think is pretty cool! I am gonna have copyright on something!!!

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 5:20 pm

        My mom will look over it (hopefully) tomorrow!

      • cupcakegirl10 May 4, 2016 / 3:18 pm

        By the way, I can’t believe Austin is going to marry Maggie!!!

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 3:19 pm

        Ya, I just decided that out of the blue! I made it un-obtrusive, then they just announced it!

      • Nancy Drew May 4, 2016 / 3:22 pm

        Oh, with the publishing thing I used, it will put an add for their business, which I don’t really mind!

Leave a Reply

